Sort by
department

Search among
our people

Hans Jørgen Bender


Position: Partner, Lawyer

Areas of expertise:

Contact information:h.bender@selmer.no
+47 970 79 977

» Read more about Hans Jørgen

Expertise

Hans Jørgen Bender advises companies on all areas of employment law, from entering into employment agreements, reorganisations and changes during the employment period, to terminations with and without notice. He has broad experience with downsizing processes, transfer of undertakings, employment law due diligence and other employment law issues related to transactions. He also provides advice on legal issues related to management incentive schemes, and non-competition and non-solicitation clauses, in addition to the employee's breach of loyalty towards the employer. His practice also includes employment law litigation.

Hans Jørgen has been lead counsel for several due diligence processes, as well as for investigation assignments. His investigation experience includes investigations of financial crime and breaches of compliance, as well as specific infringements of employment regulations. As a police lawyer and public prosecutor, Hans Jørgen led the investigations in a number of major cases, and litigated a significant number of cases before the District Court, the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court. This experience gives him a particular advantage in managing investigation and litigation assignments.

Our clients also benefit from Hans Jørgen’s experience within financial, operational and strategic counselling, project management, and structuring of complex consulting assignments, for several of the largest businesses in Norway from his previous consultancy work at one of the world's most prestigious consulting firms.

Chambers Europe ranks Hans Jørgen as one of the leading employment law experts in Norway.

Hans Jørgen is an active member of Selmer's recruitment team, and he gives lectures to students on a regular basis. He is also an external examiner and tutor for students at the Faculty of Law at the University of Bergen.

Work experience and education

Partner – Advokatfirmaet Selmer DA, 2013–
Senior Associate/Non-equity Partner – Advokatfirmaet Selmer DA, 2006–2012
Consultant – Boston Consulting Group, 2005–2006
Public Prosecutor – Oslo Public Prosecutor’s Office, 2002–2005
Police Lawyer – Oslo Police District, 1999–2002
Candidate in Jurisprudence – University of Oslo, 1999
The Norwegian Police University College, 1993

Publications

The right to perform work during the termination period (Retten til å utføre arbeid i oppsigelsestiden) – Arbeidsrett, no 3-4, 2011

He is well balanced about what's possible and what's worth proceeding with, and the value of it; he has a good sense of perspective.

Chambers 2018

He has a quick response time, strong professional skills, good business acumen and is effective.

Chambers 2017

Partners

Asbjørn Berg

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:a.berg@selmer.no
+47 909 67 350

» Read more about Asbjørn

Even Berg

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:e.berg@selmer.no
+47 934 27 036

» Read more about Even

Thomas Steen Brandi

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.brandi@selmer.no
+47 970 40 500

» Read more about Thomas

Gry Bratvold

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:g.bratvold@selmer.no
+47 957 09 082

» Read more about Gry

Per Morten Christiansen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:p.christiansen@selmer.no
+47 454 00 382

» Read more about Per Morten

Kine B. Christophersen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:k.christophersen@selmer.no
+47 906 50 658

» Read more about Kine

Christian Steen Eriksen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:c.eriksen@selmer.no
+47 928 99 829

» Read more about Christian

Mads Fuglesang

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:m.fuglesang@selmer.no
+47 402 87 449

» Read more about Mads

Mari Helen Gulsvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:m.gulsvik@selmer.no
+ 47 414 40 873

» Read more about Mari Helen

Tor Herdlevær

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.herdlevaer@selmer.no
+47 917 02 187

» Read more about Tor

Are Herrem

Position: Partner, Lawyer (H)

Expertise:

Contact information:a.herrem@selmer.no
+47 901 99 147

» Read more about Are

Sverre Hveding

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.hveding@selmer.no
+47 975 27 975

» Read more about Sverre

Daniel Løken Høgtun

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:d.hogtun@selmer.no
+47 924 00 754

» Read more about Daniel

Mads Iversen

Position: Partner, Lawyer - Trondheim

Expertise:

Contact information:m.iversen@selmer.no
+47 908 83 103

» Read more about Mads

Christopher A. Jensen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:c.jensen@selmer.no
+47 900 95 398

» Read more about Christopher

Jon Fredrik Johansen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:j.johansen@selmer.no
+47 917 99 854

» Read more about Jon Fredrik

Odd-Arne Kleveland

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:oa.kleveland@selmer.no
+47 915 18 140

» Read more about Odd-Arne

Per Kyllingstad

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:p.kyllingstad@selmer.no
+47 920 90 467

» Read more about Per

Hildegunn Ravnås Lundbakk

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:h.lundbakk@selmer.no
+47 908 38 993

» Read more about Hildegunn

Gro Løge

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:g.loge@selmer.no
+47 917 67 516

» Read more about Gro

Camilla Magnus

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:c.magnus@selmer.no
+47 977 23 233

» Read more about Camilla

Trude Gran Melbye

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:t.melbye@selmer.no
+47 971 80 068

» Read more about Trude

Norman Hansen Meyer

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:n.meyer@selmer.no
+47 481 61 627

» Read more about Norman

Thomas G. Michelet

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.michelet@selmer.no
+47 913 25 805

» Read more about Thomas

Nicolai Myren

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:n.myren@selmer.no
+47 415 70 949

» Read more about Nicolai

Sverre Nordlie

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.nordlie@selmer.no
+47 906 68 383

» Read more about Sverre

Øyvind Olimstad

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:o.olimstad@selmer.no
+47 913 60 836

» Read more about Øyvind

Line Ravlo-Losvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:l.ravlo-losvik@selmer.no
+47 952 23 394

» Read more about Line

Eirik Riddervold

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:e.riddervold@selmer.no
+47 928 18 015

» Read more about Eirik

Andreas Rørvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:a.rorvik@selmer.no
+47 916 04 805

» Read more about Andreas

Håkon Sandbekk

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:h.sandbekk@selmer.no
+47 957 77 591

» Read more about Håkon

Liv Monica Stubholt

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:l.stubholt@selmer.no
+47 916 50 523

» Read more about Liv Monica

Svein Sulland

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.sulland@selmer.no
+47 915 59 689

» Read more about Svein

Ole-Andreas Torgersen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:o.torgersen@selmer.no
+47 911 87 375

» Read more about Ole-Andreas

Mikkel Vislie

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:m.vislie@selmer.no
+47 913 25 813

» Read more about Mikkel