Sort by
department

Search among
our people

Carl E. Roberts


Position: Partner, Lawyer

Areas of expertise:

Department:Oslo

Contact information:c.roberts@selmer.no
+47 930 38 091

» Read more about Carl

Expertise

Carl E. Roberts is an expert on dispute resolution, contract law and administrative law.

Carl advises clients in connection with potential disputes and regularly appears as counsel at all court levels, and in arbitration cases. He has extensive experience from large and complex cases within a wide variety of legal areas and industries.

Carl's experience includes the handling of disputes within sectors such as renewable energy, offshore, real estate, aviation, fisheries and aquaculture, private schools and kindergartens, as well as the public sector. He has litigated several cases involving contract law issues, including disputes related to share purchase agreements and construction contracts, and within the law of torts encompassing issues in relation to water rights and ground leases. From his previous employment in the public sector, Carl has particular expertise in public law matters. He has handled several cases in the interface between the private and the public sector, including matters involving various ministries, the Financial Supervisory Authority (FSA) and the Stock Exchange Appeals Committee.

In addition to dispute resolution, Carl also advises clients on contractual issues, property law and public law. He is also experienced in investigations and in criminal procedure in connection with corporate penalties.

Carl is a frequent speaker on procedural law issues, both for fellow lawyers within the dispute resolution community and for students.

Work experience and education

Certified Mediator – The Norwegian Bar Association, 2016
Partner – Advokatfirmaet Selmer DA, 2015–
Senior Lawyer/Senior Associate and Associate – Advokatfirmaet Wiersholm AS, 2005–2015
External examiner – University of Bergen, Faculty of Law, 1999–2009
Post graduate Diploma – King's College, London, 2006
Deputy Judge – Holmestrand District Court, 2003–2005
Legal Adviser/Adviser/Senior Executive Officer – Legislation Department, Ministry of Justice, 1999–2003
Assistant – the Judge Advocate General (conscripting legal practitioner), 1999
Candidate in Jurisprudence – University of Bergen, 1999

Publications

Gyldendal rettsdata – Civil proceedings and administrative law (Sivilprosess og forvaltningsrett) – Co-author, 2008–

He has delivered the full service, good advice, first class service so ten out of ten for him. He did an excellent job.

Chambers 2017

He is brilliant.

The Legal 500 2018

Partners

Asbjørn Berg

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:a.berg@selmer.no
+47 909 67 350

» Read more about Asbjørn

Even Berg

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:e.berg@selmer.no
+47 934 27 036

» Read more about Even

Thomas Steen Brandi

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.brandi@selmer.no
+47 970 40 500

» Read more about Thomas

Gry Bratvold

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:g.bratvold@selmer.no
+47 957 09 082

» Read more about Gry

Per Morten Christiansen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:p.christiansen@selmer.no
+47 454 00 382

» Read more about Per Morten

Kine B. Christophersen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:k.christophersen@selmer.no
+47 906 50 658

» Read more about Kine

Christian Steen Eriksen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:c.eriksen@selmer.no
+47 928 99 829

» Read more about Christian

Mads Fuglesang

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:m.fuglesang@selmer.no
+47 402 87 449

» Read more about Mads

Mari Helen Gulsvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:m.gulsvik@selmer.no
+ 47 414 40 873

» Read more about Mari Helen

Tor Herdlevær

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.herdlevaer@selmer.no
+47 917 02 187

» Read more about Tor

Are Herrem

Position: Partner, Lawyer (H)

Expertise:

Contact information:a.herrem@selmer.no
+47 901 99 147

» Read more about Are

Sverre Hveding

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.hveding@selmer.no
+47 975 27 975

» Read more about Sverre

Daniel Løken Høgtun

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:d.hogtun@selmer.no
+47 924 00 754

» Read more about Daniel

Mads Iversen

Position: Partner, Lawyer - Trondheim

Expertise:

Contact information:m.iversen@selmer.no
+47 908 83 103

» Read more about Mads

Christopher A. Jensen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:c.jensen@selmer.no
+47 900 95 398

» Read more about Christopher

Jon Fredrik Johansen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:j.johansen@selmer.no
+47 917 99 854

» Read more about Jon Fredrik

Odd-Arne Kleveland

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:oa.kleveland@selmer.no
+47 915 18 140

» Read more about Odd-Arne

Per Kyllingstad

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:p.kyllingstad@selmer.no
+47 920 90 467

» Read more about Per

Hildegunn Ravnås Lundbakk

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:h.lundbakk@selmer.no
+47 908 38 993

» Read more about Hildegunn

Gro Løge

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:g.loge@selmer.no
+47 917 67 516

» Read more about Gro

Camilla Magnus

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:c.magnus@selmer.no
+47 977 23 233

» Read more about Camilla

Trude Gran Melbye

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:t.melbye@selmer.no
+47 971 80 068

» Read more about Trude

Norman Hansen Meyer

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:n.meyer@selmer.no
+47 481 61 627

» Read more about Norman

Thomas G. Michelet

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:t.michelet@selmer.no
+47 913 25 805

» Read more about Thomas

Nicolai Myren

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Stavanger

Expertise:

Contact information:n.myren@selmer.no
+47 415 70 949

» Read more about Nicolai

Sverre Nordlie

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.nordlie@selmer.no
+47 906 68 383

» Read more about Sverre

Øyvind Olimstad

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:o.olimstad@selmer.no
+47 913 60 836

» Read more about Øyvind

Line Ravlo-Losvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:l.ravlo-losvik@selmer.no
+47 952 23 394

» Read more about Line

Eirik Riddervold

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:e.riddervold@selmer.no
+47 928 18 015

» Read more about Eirik

Andreas Rørvik

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:a.rorvik@selmer.no
+47 916 04 805

» Read more about Andreas

Håkon Sandbekk

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:h.sandbekk@selmer.no
+47 957 77 591

» Read more about Håkon

Liv Monica Stubholt

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Department:Oslo

Expertise:

Contact information:l.stubholt@selmer.no
+47 916 50 523

» Read more about Liv Monica

Svein Sulland

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:s.sulland@selmer.no
+47 915 59 689

» Read more about Svein

Ole-Andreas Torgersen

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:o.torgersen@selmer.no
+47 911 87 375

» Read more about Ole-Andreas

Mikkel Vislie

Position: Partner, Lawyer

Expertise:

Contact information:m.vislie@selmer.no
+47 913 25 813

» Read more about Mikkel